Regarding maps

I think the Sunamyo desert ought to be something like a sandbox setting (heavy on the sand, of course), but not really. I don’t think it should be mapped out – there’s supposed to be more uncertainty than that. I was thinking of something like geomorphs, that could be randomly arranged and re-arranged as needed, but desert geomorphs doesn’t seem right… The desert itself is largely just a container for various landmarks, whether they be ruins of the lost empire or geological formations, or just some nasty beastie…

I have a soft spot for maps, kind of like I have one for a well-crafted set of rules. But in both cases they can kind of get in the way during actual play. I want to be absorbed in the flickering of the torch as the character ducks under a low-hanging archway, all the various cool little bits of detail that bring the scene to life, and not exactly how wide or deep or tall the room is…

About kaomera

I bake cakes for a living. In my spare time I think about and talk about roleplaying games, and sometimes even try to play them.
This entry was posted in Miscelaneous Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

