On Being a Part of Gaming History

So, as I’m sure you must know by now, WotC has announced they are ”developing the next iteration of D&D”. And, boringly enough, I don’t think I actually have anything much to say about that… I’m sure I’ll be excited by the time it’s released, and it’s pretty much a forgone conclusion that I’ll buy at least the core books, and maybe even run it at some point; but I think it’s equally sure that I will eventually become disillusioned with whatever the product ends up being branded as.

But my problem really isn’t with the newer editions, it’s with the basic landscape of D&D play… I’m really scared to actually try to run anything OSR, simply because I’ve seen too many serious articles that put forward an idea of ”what the game is about” that is just diametrically opposed to what I am interested in playing.

But, whatever… I didn’t really intend on this blog devolving to more hand-wringing about this stuff… I just have nothing else to post tonight after noodling about on the topic way too much.

About kaomera

I bake cakes for a living. In my spare time I think about and talk about roleplaying games, and sometimes even try to play them.
This entry was posted in Random Nonsense. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

